Gooseberry Bluff Community College of Magic: The Thirteenth Rib

Gooseberry Bluff Community College of Magic:…

Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 416

David J. Schwartz’s Gooseberry Bluff Community College of Magic: The Thirteenth Rib is my first attempt into serial books.  I downloaded several chapters or episodes at once, and then every two weeks a new installment became available for download.  Reading a book as a serial is new to me and I wasn’t sure how I’d like it, but like it I did.  Waiting for the next episode provided an extra dose of anticipation and excitement to reading Gooseberry Bluff.

As for the book itself, I found Gooseberry Bluff Community College of Magic: The Thirteenth Rib a perfect book for summer reading: It’s light, moves quickly, and Schwartz writes likable, enjoyable characters.  Gooseberry Bluff also contains the right amount of dry, sarcastic humor.  The only thing that bothered me about the book is the ending.  The ending didn’t seem finished.  At first, I thought another episode would arrive in two weeks, but the note for that wasn’t provided.  Also, the publisher provides the author’s information at the end.  I suspect that Gooseberry Bluff could be the beginning of a series, as Schwartz leaves many situations unresolved and questions unanswered, so I hope the story continues in future novels.

If you enjoy novels that involve magic, alternate realities, parallel universes, and inter-dimensional warfare, you’ll enjoy David J. Schwartz’s Gooseberry Bluff Community College of Magic: The Thirteenth Rib.

Leave a Reply

